Amazon is Finally Accepting EBT for Food Purchases!

(Last Updated On: April 19, 2019)

Finally, Amazon is participating in a  two-year government pilot program that allows some shoppers to pay for their online grocery orders with food stamps! This limited program has some caveats, but we have all the details.

Of course, Amazon has always been a great resource for low income families. I love that they offer discounted Prime memberships for low income families with Medicaid or food stamps!

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Amazon has finally started accepting some EBT cards for online grocery orders! The program hopes to make shopping easier for working moms, the elderly and disabled who don’t have time or access to physical stores.

The downside? The limited pilot program only works in certain areas. To start with, Amazon will only be able to accept New York EBT cards from customers in certain zip codes. Visit to see if you’re eligible!

However, the pilot will soon expand to other areas of New York and other select states, including Alabama, Iowa, Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey, Oregon and Washington. It is not clear if the program will be expanded to other states during the two year pilot period.

If you are eligible for this program, eligible grocery items will be marked as “SNAP EBT eligible.” Only products that are shipped and sold by Amazon are eligible, so sometimes items will be deemed ineligible simply because they are sold by other retailers. You cannot use SNAP to pay for “subscribe and save” subscription items, either.

Although you don’t need an Amazon Prime subscription to place your order, you cannot use food stamps funds to pay for any service or delivery charges. Fortunately, you can click here to get a discounted Amazon Prime membership if you have EBT or Medicaid!

Walmart, ShopRite and other providers will also be able to accept EBT cards for online orders in participating states.

Get 450+ freebies & deals with your EBT card!


  1. Heather
    November 6, 2017
  2. candace
    February 7, 2018
  3. Marsha McFarland
    April 4, 2018
    • Nicole
      June 4, 2018
  4. Meranda
    July 22, 2018
    • Nicole
      July 25, 2018
  5. Maryam Crosnoe
    July 29, 2018
    • Nicole Thelin
      July 30, 2018
  6. Leneka M Bryant
    August 1, 2018
    • Nicole Thelin
      August 1, 2018
  7. Kanoe Barker
    December 19, 2018
    • Riley Thomson
      December 22, 2018
      • Kanoe Barker
        January 5, 2019
        • Riley Thomson
          January 5, 2019
      • lastdragon
        January 23, 2019
        • Riley Thomson
          February 2, 2019
          • Cheryl
            February 25, 2019
          • Riley Thomson
            February 25, 2019
  8. antoinette willis
    March 24, 2019
    • Riley Thomson
      March 26, 2019

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.